Showing Up to Get Started

Laura Quilligan
2 min readMay 19, 2021

--

It’s a beautiful spring morning here in the mountains of Northern New Mexico. Now that the pandemic seems to be winding down, we can all go on with millions of projects that have been on hold for over a year. At least that is the case for me.

I’m downsizing my house and studio. Artists collect lots of stuff. After being in my studio and home for 30 years my collection of objects, art materials, fabrics, and visual references has grown, and filtering through it all has been quite a task! I have saved things like driftwood from a walk on the beach in Northern California over 30 years ago, before I moved to New Mexico. Bark from a Eucalytus tree was another fascinating natural item I saved from my time in California.

I have been blocked and procrastinating writing for over a month now. I have been thinking about finishing my e-book for a long time. I’m on the last chapter and need to include 3,000 more words to bring my little ebook up to 10,000 words. It’s a book on creativity and intuition.

I’m showing up to write this blog with the help of Caroline Leon’s excellent content creation course instructions. As a creativity coach I know that deadlines, and structure help to break through procrastination. So here I am, breaking through. I’m actually writing.

I have many personal journals, 8 years worth, written in spiral notebooks. Lately, I have been doing audio stream of consciousness journaling on my phone. George Kao, another excellent marketing coach I follow, suggested public journaling as a way for people to share their point of view. When I learned this, it completely resonated with me. For me, it validated what I have been doing privately for so long.

This is my showing up, breaking through the procrastination, and with the help and encouragement of these excellent teachers, I’m putting words to a blog. Viola!

Here is my beginning again to show up, public journal, and share my point of view. Thank you Caroline and George.

--

--

Laura Quilligan

Artisan, certified Kaizen Muse Creativity Coach. Your creativity is a journey of courage and perseverance. I can help with your blocks. Wanderinyourwonder.com